7 steps to a happy morn | starting your morning off right!

I am not a morning person.

I will be the first to admit that if you stumble upon me in my early-morning-groggy-state, it may or may not end in you handing me tissues because I’m sobbing. Because I’m just not a morning person.

And it’s just that bad.

Thankfully, over the course of the last few years, I’ve developed a bit of a system that makes waking up with a cheerful heart a little easier. Though it’s not fool-proof, I have found that these steps definitely are the stepping stones to a happier day.

7 WAYS

. . . .

’twas the night before

One | R+R the night before

I know that there is something totally rejuvenating about waking up and climbing directly into the heat of a shower – believe me, talk about a relaxing way to start a day! For me though, it’s so easy for me to spend too much time in the shower in the morning, which causes me to be late to the days activity. I used to just set my alarm for earlier in the morning so I’d get this quality shower time, but I always found that this made me way more tired. Simply spend a lot of time in the shower the night before to alleviate the morning grog!

Two | 10 minutes helps

It’s absolutely impossible for me to get out of bed as soon as my alarm goes off…I usually end up staying in bed for a solid 10 minutes before finally mustering up the willpower to remove myself from my comfy duvet. If I set my alarm 10 minutes earlier than the time I need to get up, I account for the amount of time it takes to fully wake up. This helps alleviate the number of haphazard mistakes made [which always end up ticking me off, anyways!]

And if you happen to be bright-eyed and bushy-tailed some mornings before the 10 minutes is up, than you have extra time to apply to whatever area needs it! 

Three + Four | Pre-plan

Three | I realize that this is a little mundane, but coming up with stellar ensembles at 7am has got to be one of the hardest parts of a girls life [no…but seriously]. Simply grabbing a pair of jeans and a tee the night before and laying them out makes for  a quick grab-and-go in the morning.

Four | Staying hydrated is probably one of the hardest parts about the morning! Oftentimes, I quick grab a banana + opt out of drinking altogether in the early hours of the day. Prepping one of these detox waters will not only be easy to grab, yummy to drink, and hydrating – their health benefits are tremendous!

the morning itself

Five | Give yourself time

Give yourself an ample amount of time to spend on prepping yourself for the day. It’s easy to rush makeup + hair. But to be quite honest, that’s the only little bit of pamper-time you’ve got until you arrive home after the day’s activities. Give yourself enough time to truly primp/prep yourself in the morning, so that your face feels awake and refreshed to start the day.

Six | Eat Up

Breakfast is most certainly the most important meal of the day. Skipping it always puts me in a funk and eating the wrong thing does too! Spend time preparing a healthy breakfast that will make your body and tummy happy.

suggested: one | two | three | others

Seven | Keep it off

Once you wake up in the morning, keep your phone off. It’s so easy for me to get pulled out of a restful morning by checking social medias or texting a good friend…especially when it’s only 7:15. It’s also a crazy time-murderer. Keep your phone on airplane mode until you’ve had your breakfast and are on the train/bus/etc., fully awake and energized from a morning well spent!

. . . .

happy mornings to you!

xoxo,

brittanycharis

Leave a Reply

