Spilled coffee

I hate spilled coffee.

Wait, let me restate that. I hate spilling coffee on my outfit after waking up at 6:51 sans alarm with a sore throat and having to get out of my cotton comfort and into the June 1st morning, in which I had to do some kind of jig around the people in my kitchen to get my breakfast.

Yeah. That seems about right. It’s been a bumpy morning. Usually Sunday mornings go smoothly, with a heart that is joyful because church tends to do that to me. This morning was unusual, however. With the exception of the beautiful weather outside the windows, I was having some serious trouble figuring out how I would ever get through the morning without getting visibly frustrated at someone.

Mornings like this are when my weakness is on full display. My skirt has been stained by iced coffee, my hair is knotty and snarly and unwilling to cooperate, my kitchen is too crowded to just toast a bagel and cook an egg, my shower has little-to-no shampoo/conditioner and I only realize this AFTER I get in.

Hey, at least my outfit is cute?

No. That was not the redeeming part of my morning. The redeeming part of my morning is remember the Redeemer who willingly gave up his perfect life, that I might live.

He died for my unhappy attitude this morning, for every single morning – the good and the bad. Because chances are, no day goes free of grouch, anger, and visible frustration. His power was made perfect through my weakness.

His power was made perfect through the spilled coffee, 6:51am, a lack of shampoo/conditioner, an abundantly full kitchen, and most importantly my unhappy heart.

Thanks for spilled coffee, Jesus. It reminds me just how much I need you. 

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

DSC08289

Top: j crew // Skirt: Homemade // Flat: DexFlex by Payless // Earring: Forever21 // Bracelet: Alex and Ani // Sunglasses: Charlotte Russe

DSC08301

DSC08294

DSC08287

Noonday pink.

Noonday pink.

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Hope you all are having a blessed Sunday!

xoxo,

brittanycharis

Leave a Reply

