This year I resolve to…(2014 edition)

Hi dolls!

Can you believe it is already 2014? I think for the majority of us, 2013 sped by. It seemed like I blinked and months were gone from my grasp. It went so fast and was one of the most beautiful years I’ve lived through so far. With many struggles, came many more beautiful blessings. So, 2013 has come to a close, and with it many memories – of good and bad.

 

One of my favorite things about the turning of a new year, is the sense of a bright, clean future. There is an element of mystery and hope, as you look onto the crisp 12 months ahead. I’m so excited to see what God has in store for me this year.

 

Last year at this time, I was bedridden with a flu-like virus, and scrawled out a few New Years resolutions and posted them to the internet in one of my first blog posts. About 65 posts later, I’m again posting the my goals for this year (this time, the 2014 edition!).

This year, I resolve to…

1.  Depend on the Lord In all that I do.

It’s my life, yes, but he ordained it, he knows all that will happen, that is happening, and that has happened – he’s always known. He knows the number of hairs on my head, the number of tears I’ve cried. He knows my heart, myself, better than I. Remembering that in all that I do, I can depend on him knowing he’s constant and all knowing, and everything that happens is for a reason.

2. Continue with my fitness and stay fit for the whole year.

This past year I’ve really become a sort’ve fitness nerd. I began pilates in about May and did workouts every day until the beginning of the school year – I now do them every other day (for the most part). If I can maintain all the muscle I have built up in 2013, that would be amazing.

3. Get good grades in my subjects.

If I want to get into a good college, I really do need to work to get good grades. High School is where it counts and I really need to keep myself grounded enough that at the end of the school year, I can look at my grades and be proud of them.

4. Worry less.

I’m a worrier. I always think of the what if’s in situations. This goes back to #1 in that if I depend on God, the worrying will go away. I know this because last year I worried constantly which caused me to have many absences. But, when I gave it to the Lord, and trusted that he would be there for me, no matter what happened, knowing that, I can’t change the outcome of the situation by worrying –  the worrying went away.

5. Write more letters.

It’s a lost art. Letters used to be passed back and forth constantly between two people and there is absolutely nothing like getting a letter in the mail! This year, I hope to write as many letters as I possibly can – It’s way better than sending an email!

6. Listen to more classic music (i.e. Sinatra, Louis Armstrong, Nat King Cole, etc.)

Pretty self-explanatory. Years from now the artists that are popular today will be a small scratch in musical history whilst artists like Sinatra, Armstrong, and Nat King Cole have shaped the music industry with their timeless, classic hits.

7. Build up a timeless/classic/quality wardrobe.

This is pretty self-evident! 🙂

8. Get a job.

I would really like to get a job this year, whether that be a waitress, clerk, barista, whatever – If I can get a job and start earning money for myself, it would be great!

9. Get my license.

Again, pretty self-explanatory. If I get a job, I’ve gotta be able to drive!

10. Dance more! {Embrace the dance floor and be bold at every opportunity}

This might seem like a very weird resolution, but, for me, dancing is uncomfortable. If I’m surrounded by people who are dancing, I really despise getting up and dancing with them because I feel like I’m inferior in some way. The underlying objective here is just to be bold when faced with what may seem like a humiliation inducing experience because, most likely, it’s not going to be.

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Here’s to writing the wrong year every time we write the date for the next 6 months. (You know you do it.)

And more importantly, loving, laughing through, growing in, and cherishing every moment presented to you.

Cheers!

xoxo,

brittanycharis

4 thoughts on “This year I resolve to…(2014 edition)

  1. Pingback: Dancing times are happy times | xoxo, brittany charis

  2. Pingback: a different kind of new years post | xoxo, brittany charis

Leave a Reply

